The wildlife I saw on my run.

I didn’t realise how much I needed today’s run. I went back to running time not distance, counting minutes not kilometres. It went well, but that wasn’t what I realised I needed. 

I have a mild case of Season Affected Disorder. It’s not bad, and mostly self diagnosed but I have noticed that the shorter the days and the longer I spend inside without sunlight I do get pretty upset, lethargic and demotivated. That just won’t do, so today was extra important.

I tried to stay off main roads and stuck to trees, grass and open air. It was wondeful. I saw so many birds!

Ethan Hawk, the hunter of the road. 

The heron who flew away when I pulled out my camera. 

Those flying south in search of heat. 

Just being around them made me calmer, happier and thankful in a way I hadn’t realised I needed to be. 

Then, suddenly! Poodle pups! 

A pack of yapping, sniffing and bouncing ears. It came out of nowhere and made me laugh no end. 

I suppose the moral of this post is get outside when you can, your body needs it. Mine did. 

Leave a Reply

