Too blind to see success.

Its been a while since I blogged. I felt the same way about blogging as I felt about being back from China; the adventure was over.

This wasn’t true of course, this was just cabin fever setting in. I spent a week at home not doing much but watch TV and going my daily run, not a bad life but I felt bad. I imagined I should be doing something else, something drastic but this was all wistful, I was fine and in a nice place with people who loved me. It was the lack of routine before university that was making hours drag.

This all sounds very waffley and sad. It was easy to focus on this. But after today’s run I can see that my daily run had worked wonders.

I had been using my watch to track my 5k runs, running the distance with fewer stops and walks. I am still slow but there is improvement.

46 mins.
44 mins.
42 mins.
And today? 40 mins!

Woah hold on. That’s been less than 2 weeks and there’s 6mins difference? That’s like having a cup of tea! More than an ad break! I can shower in less time!

6 mins is substantial. I can consider that success.

Now let’s not rest on laurels, I’d like to get sub-30 mins pretty soon then move onto 10ks, but at least its progress.

Reflecting on this has allowed me to see my ‘wasted days’ were not in fact wasted and being a negative Nancy gets you nowhere.

Now running? That gets you places.

One thought on “Too blind to see success.

  1. Love it. Health and fitness can come in easy steps. Not just going crazy and paying tons of money to join gyms and get fancy gear. I love your emphasis on how easy it can be to take simple steps.

    I think you’d find my new blog has very similar posts. I encourage you to check it out! Like. Subscribe. Whatever. We are all in the fitness blogging game for the same thing. To spread healthy lifestyle as far and wide as we can. I am trying to build my network one comment at a time!

    https://millennialsurvivalblog.wordpress.com/blog/

    Britt

    Like

Leave a Reply

